National Clinical Impact Awards 2022

The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) has been rebranded as the Advisory Committee on Clinical Impact Awards (ACCIA). The UK Kidney Association is a National Nominating Organisation (NNO). To seek UKKA support, applications must be submitted to by 18 May 2022. Please include your surname and ACCIA in the e-mail title and your full application. The UKKA can only see the names of applicants on the online system, not applications. Applications will be scored by a balanced panel according to the ACCIA guidance.  

Clinical impact awards application form

Clinical impact awards application guidance

Key dates

27 April 2022: application opens

18 May 2022: deadline to submit your application to the UKKA to request support as a NNO

1 June 2022: UKKA will notify applicants if their application will be supported 

22 June 2022: the application portal closes

Changes to the scheme

  • Increased number of awards. Once the transition process for existing national CEA award holders is over, there will be up to 600 awards granted annually in England (current level is 300). National and local awards will also be held concurrently.
  • Restructured award levels. In England, the new scheme now operates as a three-level award system: National 1 (lowest), National 2 and National 3 (highest).
  • Refreshed assessment domains. The assessment domains have been revised to combine both Delivering and Developing Service into a single new domain (Domain 1). Three domains (Domains 2, 3 and 4 have been renumbered and their emphases amended) and a new fifth domain has been introduced to allow applicants to include evidence of national impact from other unremunerated activities or where they have delivered impact over and above expectations.
  • Simplified application process. A single-level application process has been introduced such that applicants no longer apply for an award at a certain level. This enables applicants to attain higher level awards on first application based upon the score attained.
  • Removed pro-rated awards. Those working Less Than Full Time (LTFT) will no longer have their post-2022 award payments pro-rated.
  • Removed the renewals process. The renewals process has been removed and the new award will be held for a total of five years, after which applicants need to re-apply.
  • Removed the pensionability of awards. National Clinical Impact Awards are no longer pensionable or consolidated.
  • Simplified process for employers. Employers will now only need to indicate their support or lack thereof for an application and will be required to provide a citation for each applicant. Employer scoring and ranking are no longer required.

Further information can be found on the ACCIA website


NICE accredited clinical practice guidelines 

Available here

25th Annual Report

Analyses about the care provided to patients at UK renal centres.

Read the report


A report on the nationwide collection of AKI warning test scores. 

Read the report