Governance & structure

Board of trustees

This is the UK Kidney Association's governing body as a charity, responsible for the management of the association’s business. The board meets face to face at least three times a year to:

  • manage risk

  • oversee strategy, define policy, agree the business plan and monitor progress

  • ensure the proper management of the association to achieve its objectives.

It has the authority to carry out the UKKA’s charitable responsibilities and delegates the operational aspects of its affairs to its CEO and committees. It works closely and liaises with the UKKA council but ultimately, all decisions (apart from changes to the Articles of Association) are either taken by, or on behalf of, the board of trustees and reported to the membership at the annual general meeting.


Presidents: Prof Paul Cockwell, Clare Morlidge

President Elect: Dr Katie Vinen

BAPN President: Dr Jan Dudley

Clinical Vice Presidents: Prof James Burton, Lisa Ancliffe

Academic Vice Presidents: Kathrine Parker, Prof John Sayer

Honorary Secretary: Prof Alan Salama

Treasurer: Prof Tim Bowen

Non-member Trustees: David Silver


Our council is a wise body of people chosen to support, advise and guide the board of trustees in developing policy, strategy and implementation. It meets at least three times a year and represents the views and opinions of the membership of the association. Members include those elected by the membership, committee chairs, and representatives from the board of trustees and the wider renal community.

Elected members

  • Dr Victoria Ingham (2019 – 2022)
  • Dr Colin Geddes (2020 - 2023)
  • Dr Richard Hull - Consultant less than 5 years (2018 – 2021)
  • Dr Edwin Wong (2020 - 2023)
  • Dr Debasish Banerjee (2018 – 2021)
  • Dr Peter Hewins (2017 – 2021)
  • Dr Marie Condon - Consultant less than 5 years (2017 – 2021)

Committee chairs (appointed)

  • Dr Jim Burton (Clinical practice guidelines committee)
  • Professor Sunil Bhandari (International committee)
  • Dr Clara Day (Clinical services committee)
  • Dr Debasish Banerjee (Education and training committee)
  • Dr Danny Gale (Rare diseases committee)
  • Dr Afzal Chaudhry (Renal PatientView)
  • Dr Yincent Tse (Patient information committee)
  • Dr Katrin Jones (Patient safety committee)
  • Dr Tim Bowen (Renal scientists committee)


  • Dr Yook Mun Woo (representative for non-consultant grades)
  • Dr Hannah Beckwith (SpR club representative)
  • Professor Peter Maxwell (representative for Northern Ireland)
  • Dr Mark Andrews (Chairman, SAC Renal Medicine)
  • Dr Mick Kumwenda (Society of DGH Nephrologists)
  • Dr Sharlene Greenwood (President, British Renal Society)
  • Professor Phil Kalra (Chair, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Speciality Group)
  • Dr Andrew Lunn (Honorary Secretary, BAPN)
  • Dr Aled Philips (representative for Wales)
  • Dr Peter Thomson (representative for Scotland)
  • Dr Mark Dockrell and Dr Gavin Welsh (Co-chairs, Renal Scientists Working Party)
  • Dr Andrew Connor (Green Nephrology)
  • Mr Ron Cullen (Renal Association CEO)
  • Dr James Medcalf (Medical director, UK Renal Registry)
  • Fiona Loud (Policy director, Kidney Care UK)
  • Kirit Modi (National Kidney Federation)

Patient council

The UK Kidney Association patient council helps to connect us and the work we are doing with people whose lives are directly affected by kidney disease. It meets face to face quarterly to help produce patient information, encourage patients to become involved in kidney care and discuss how data is used.

Equality & diversity

We are committed to creating and sustaining a positive, fair and mutually supportive environment. We accept, respect and value people with diverse identities and backgrounds and believe our differences make us stronger and more effective in achieving our goals. We ensure appointments are made on the recommendation of a transparent, balanced and appropriate panel, are made on the basis of merit, and encourage applications from all suitably qualified and eligible candidates.


NICE accredited clinical practice guidelines 

Available here

25th Annual Report

Analyses about the care provided to patients at UK renal centres.

Read the report

2022 UKRR AKI Report

A report on the nationwide collection of AKI warning test scores. 

Read the report