Raine Award

The Raine Award is a prestigious annual award made to a junior investigator who has not reached consultant grade, or senior lecturer for non-clinical scientists, and who has made a significant contribution to renal research.


1996 Steven Harper - Immunopathogenesis of IgA nephropathy

1997 Nigel Brunskill - Pathogenic implications of proteinuria

1998 Albert Ong - Polycystic kidney disease

1999 David Kluth - Inflammatory mechanisms of glomerular injury

2000 Alice Allen - Pathogenesis of IgA nephropathy

2001 Coralie Bingham - Definition of the Renal Cysts and Diabetes Syndrome

2002 Sally Feather - Genetic basis of foetal malformations of the kidney and urinary tract

2003 Helen Lachman - Amyloidosis

2004 Jeremy Duffield - The role of macrophages in renal inflammation

2005 Anna Richards - Atypical HUS

2006 Menna Clatworthy - Immune inhibition

2007 John Sayer - Molecular genetics of nephronophthisis

2008 Bryan Conway - Finding genes for diabetic kidney disease

2009 David Kavanagh - The pathogenesis of haemolytic uraemic syndrome

2010 Andy Salmon - Regulation of glomerular permeability

2011 Daniel Gale - Gene hunting in the Renal Unit

2012 Amy Jayne McKnight - Unravelling heritable complexities for CKD

2013 Andrew Hall - Power cuts in the proximal tubule: mitochondria, antiretrovirals & the renal Fanconi syndrome

2014 Thomas Hiemstra - Waste not. The business of urine exosomes

2015 James Fotheringham - Long breaks and disappearing PD catheters: lessons from linking UK Renal Registry data

2016 Eoin Mckinney - Better off sick and tired: T cell exhaustion and outcome in autoimmune disease

2017 Edwin Wong - Complement-mediated renal disease

2018 Pippa Bailey - Understanding socioeconomic inequity in living-donor kidney transplantation

2019 Alex Hamilton - The psychosocial health of young adults on renal replacement therapy

2020 Matthew Graham-Brown (rolled over to UKKW 2021 due to the pandemic)


2022 Jennifer Lees - CKD, cardiovascular disease and cancer: the scenic route

2023 Melanie Chan - Genomic insights into urinary tract malformations: moving beyond monogenic inheritance

2024 Benjamin Stewart - Mapping immunity in the human kidney with single cell genomics


Representatives from the UKKA will consider the applications and the winner will be announced annually. 

To apply please provide:

  • a concise letter of support from a Nephrology Consultant or Unit Head
  • a short letter explaining why the applicant considers that they should receive this award
  • a mini-CV (no longer than two A4 sides) highlighting relevant publications, the date the applicant joined the Renal Association/UKKA and current state of membership
  • a list of presentations made at UKKA meetings

Please provide the documents in PDF format and the UKKA Secretariat will acknowledge receipt of applications.

The award of £300 is only available to members of the UKKA. 


NICE accredited clinical practice guidelines 

Available here

25th Annual Report

Analyses about the care provided to patients at UK renal centres.

Read the report

2022 UKRR AKI Report

A report on the nationwide collection of AKI warning test scores. 

Read the report